With AGS Security Systems now in our second year as headline sponsors of the Flintshire Business Awards, AGS MD Jonathan Turner was tasked to head out and catch up with some of the previous years’ winners. 

The 2012 awards were held at the historic Soughton Hall Hotel on Friday October 19

Now in its sixth year, the Awards recognise the most successful and fastest growing companies in the county and the entrepreneurs behind them.


Two companies were the proud recipients of two awards each. Aerotech Design, who have a base in Hawarden, won two – the Export Award, and Aerotech’s Brian Fleet CBE won the Business Person of the Year award.

Knauf Insulation, who have a plant in Queensferry, also won two – the Environment Award and the Sustainability Award. Winner of the Apprenticeship Award, which is a new category for 2012, is Natasha Cooper from UPM Shotton.

Flintshires Most Successful Businesses

Councillor Peter Macfarlane, Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Enterprise and Leisure, said “I would like to offer my congratulations to all the prize winners, and our thanks to those who sponsored the awards, and to our judges.”

“To be recognised by your peers as being the best in your field is the ultimate accolade. I am proud that the Flintshire Business Awards, which are a major part of our Business Week, have earned a reputation for showcasing and rewarding the achievements of the county’s most successful businesses.”

Celebration of Excellence

Jonathan Turner, MD, AGS, said “As always, these awards are a celebration of the excellence of the leading businesses that are driving forward the region’s economy through these challenging times.”

“It is a testament both to the strength and vitality of the business community in Flintshire, and to the significance and stature of the Awards event. The quality of the contenders for our Flintshire Business Awards is a shining demonstration of the entrepreneurial spirit which burns so brightly in our business community, which will ultimately lead us out of the economic downturn, and I would like to offer my congratulations to our winners.”